If you want to drive legally in Wyoming, you must have a valid Wyoming Driver’s License. All the drivers have to take a driving test exam as well as a knowledge test. The licensure process also includes documents that you have to submit to the local DMV.
In case you have never applied to the DMV office before or are a new U.S citizen you should take the following steps:
First of all, present your proof of identity.
Secondly, provide your current residence address verification. (there should be two)
Your name and current physical address must be included in the paperwork. A parent/guardian may offer proof of residence in the parent/name guardian's for a minor kid. Documents must be no older than a month.
Thirdly, you need to show your SSN.
You may present a bank statement that includes your Social Security Number, W-2 form, or Social Security Card.
Finally, if you have made a name change, present a change order. To provide your name changes submit a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or any other state-issued document showing you’ve changed your name.
The documents required for a DL and a state identification card are the same.
After submitting all these papers, you are asked to be photographed and may be required to undergo a written or road test. You should have access to a vehicle in order to take the exam, and it must be the same class of vehicle as to the one you will be certified to drive.
Driver’s License for New Residents
If you have recently moved to WY, you have to apply in person for a Wyoming DL.
After you got the residency ID for a year, you will be able to get your permit. However, you can immediately apply to the local DMV if you are from one of the below-mentioned states:
DL Suspension or Cancelation
If you have ever faced a permit suspension, cancelation, denial, or revocation, you have to meet all the state requirements.
To check your privilege status you have to pay a visit to the DMV. Here, you should submit a request to run a check. The records are saved in the Problem Driver Pointer System (PSPS) and are available only to the law authorities.
The papers needed for this check-up are your proof of identity and driver’s license.
Fees and Applicable Payments
Whether you're new to Wyoming or driving for the first time, you'll have to pay a fee for your license. The cost of a permit varies depending on the required type. The other situation is whether it is new or renewed.
All the offices accept cash, checks, or money orders. Nearly all accept debit or credit cards but include a processing fee.
The general fees based on the type are as follows:
If you are renewing your current certificate you have to pay $15 for A, B, and C classes and $20 for CDLs.